How Twitter Saved My Marriage and Got Me Hires

You can’t go on Twitter and NOT see recruiters and you can’t talk to recruiters and NOT hear about Twitter so as a special treat we have brought in one of my favorite sourcing tweeps (Lisa Gebhard) to share how the site has helped her put butts in seats and in the process impacted her personal life.

I hope the title brought you in to read my post – as silly as it sounds, it’s true!  I’d love to share with you how this great world of Twitter has not only helped me recruit talented sales reps, but assisted in bringing calmness in my personal life.

There are so many social media sites out there to choose from it’s often hard to decipher which one is the best and which will provide the best outcome.  Giving them all a trial run has worked best for me. 

I have had a LinkedIn profile for years  and Facebook allowed me to connect  with all of my old friends from college, old co-workers, high school acquaintances and truly made me feel like the master of networking. 

Then there is Twitter…

For me Twitter connected my professional world to my personal world and allows me to connect with people in a conversational type way. 

It’s not an email, it’s not going to a company website, but it’s real time information about positions/company 411 from a real employee. In 140 characters or less, I can discuss salary, benefits, community programs, awards, recognition and really get candidates excited about my company!

Through my tweeting activities, I began following different regional groups in the spaces that I recruit to follow their members.  As I discussed my geography (always hashtagging it), I began to gain followers in those areas. 

My first hire was a candidate who said that I was connected with many important people in his region and engaged in a conversation with me.  This is where it all starts! Simply, by hitting REPLY. 

My second hire searched several hashtags and found me through the following – #State #Sales #Hiring.

My motto is if you are not OUT there, you will never know.  So get on Twitter, begin engaging.  It’s yet another place to connect with the right candidates.

The part about saving my marriage?

Well, it’s kind of a joke but I love talking on Twitter so much that I feel like I get all my ideas out before the end of the professional work day.  When my husband comes home, I’m not running my mouth to him anymore.  Less listening for him, more relaxing for me and that is how Twitter has helped me in my personal life!

Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! Make sure to follow Lisa at @lisarecruitsadap and connect with her on LinkedIn.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

2 responses to “How Twitter Saved My Marriage and Got Me Hires

  1. pam rosenberg

    great read!!! Very proud of you!!!

  2. Pingback: How #Twitter Saved My Marriage and Got Me #Hires « AIRS Training Blog

Leave a Reply

